Yoga

Coming out of an ashram with 200hrs under your belt and a practice of taking a whole 2 classes in an exam setting is far from a preparation to being a teacher to your students.

Headstands after a few rounds of sun salutations? I think not! (and before you ask, no I’m not teaching this, and yes this is what my course in India taught us).

Thank god for my many years of practice and the teachings my invaluable teacher has given me, to help build the practice that I am now sharing with my students.

Yoga is more than downward dogs, handstands and the latest yoga leggings. It is a practice that helps one become centred, aware of their body and emotions, and be completely present in movement with their breath. Healing the body with the breath. It’s all about YOU becoming aware of the real you, your higher self, and all that exists.

From what I see that walks through the doors into my yoga class, people don’t need more physical stress in their lives, they need a reset button, a much needed space for “me” time. Some TLC for their mind and soul that they don’t get a chance to feel outside of their yoga mat.

I’m not going to lie, my students are a stiff bunch, but it’s really no surprise. Years of weight lifting, running, sitting down for long periods every day, physically picking up young children and holding onto emotional stress all adds up to tightness in the body. Your issues truly lie in your tissues.

With yoga being a fad right now, half the female population becoming teachers (myself included), and the media focusing on Circus De Soleil contortions, it’s important to keep note on why one would do yoga.

Powerful flows may feel great, do wonders for the ego, and those 30deg sweat boxes might feel like we are releasing toxins but really it’s more physical stress on our bodies. Give yourself a break! Don’t even get me talking about this ridiculous culture of Beer Yoga!

The benefits of yoga are in their hundreds, both physically, emotionally and mentally. The practice is a lifelong journey. No class or sequence is ever the same, and the more one does yoga, the deeper the connection with your inner self.

Patience, letting go, being present and reconnecting with your breath is all that is needed. Forget your perfect chatarungas, forget how your ass looks in your lululemon tights, and forget your need to be more than exactly where you are.

As for teaching, I’m very much enjoying it. It helps me become a better person in all aspects as one does not like to preach without practicing, but in all honesty I am as much of a student as those in my classes, and that’s probably the best part of it all.

Author: vibesdontlieblog

Energy Healer, Emotion Code Practitioner and spreader of positive, high, loving vibrations

Leave a Reply

